Wednesday, October 13, 2010

K'tka Assembly vote depends on HC's final order‎

Congress,JD-S ready for D-day

1.The Congress and the Janata Dal S have issued whips to all its legislators to vote against the government in the trust vote to be held tomorrow. The congress has directed all its mlas to be present in full strength for tomorrows confidence vote. The party has warned of action against those mlas who boycot tomorrows proceedings.
Meanwhile the bjp had issued a whip to all its mlas on tuesday itself.

2.The chief ministers office in a communication sent here has said that the chief minister will propose the vote of confidence at 11 am. The governor in his letter yesterday had directed the government to prove its majority on october 14 by 11 am. Meanwhile the speaker in another communmication has stated that the vehicles of only the chief minister, the opposition leader and the jd(s) legislature party leadr will be permitted into the legilative assembly premises which is in the vidhan soudha. The rest of the mlas will be taken into the vidhan soudha in special vehicles. No mlcs and mps will be permitted, the speaker has said.

13 Oct 2010 21:09:25

The governor of Karnataka is said to have expressed his help less ness to postpone the trust vote to be held tomorrow. During a meeting the congress leaders urged the governor to postpone the trust vote in the wake of the high court stating that the proceedings will be subject to its final order. The governor is said to have told the leaders that it would not be possible for them to recall his order which had in the first place directed the bjp to prove its majority on the floor of the house on october 14.

13 Oct 2010 18:32:30

Para military forces have been called in to guard the karnataka legislative assembly tomorrow where the trust vote against the b s yedyurappa government will be held. The state administration has also instructed security personnel not to permit members of the legislatice council and members of parliament into the house.
These steps have been taken in view of the allegations of outsiders being permited into the hiuse last time and also the ruckus which was causeed the last time.

Yeddyurappa trust vote result linked to HC verdict
13 Oct 2010 17:20:37

With the High Court not permitting the five independent MLA's to vote tomorrow and with the 11 BJP MLA's being disqualified the strength of the Karnataka Legislative Assembly stands at 208. The magic number for the BJP to win the trust vote is 105. The bjp has 105 mlas with it while the congress and the jds has 73 and 28 respectively. There is one independent candidate who has indicated he will vote against the government.

October 13, 2010, 17:00:

The Karnataka high court on Wednesday refused to order a stay on the trust vote scheduled to be held in the assembly on October 14.
Five Independent MLAs, who were disqualified by the speaker on Monday along with 11 BJP MLAs, had sought a stay order on the trust vote.
The 16 MLAs will not be allowed to vote in the confidence motion against CM Yeddyrappa.

October 13, 2010, 16:38:

The B S Yeddyurappa government's fate will be decided only after the Karnataka High Court gives its final order on the plea filed by 16 MLAs against their disqualification. Even if the BJP wins the trust vote on Thursday, it will have to wait for the order of the high court. If the high court overturns the order of the speaker, then 16 MLAs may be allowed to cast their votes. In case the HC upholds the speaker’s order, Thursday's result will be considered final.

October 13, 2010, 15:07:

The Karnataka high court will hear the interlocutory application filed by the five Independent MLAs, who are seeking a stay on the trust vote on October 14 and their disqualification by the speaker, at 3.30 pm on Wednesday.

October 13, 2010, 14:17:
A delegation of the Bharatiya Janata Party led by senior leader L K Advani met Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and Home Minister P Chidambaram on Wednesday and demanded the recall of Karnataka Governor H R Bhardwaj.

Earlier, BJP general secretary Arun Jaitley blasted Bhardwaj, saying, "The governor acted with a pre-determined mind in making the recommendation for imposing President's Rule in Karnataka. The governor's office in Karnataka has become an epicentre for horse trading to destabilise the state government."

He added, "We agreed to face the second vote of trust in Karnataka in order to avoid a constitutional confrontation."

Independents move to high court

October 13, 2010, 12:18:

The five independent MLAs, who were disqualified by the Speaker of the Karnataka legislative assembly, have decided to move the high court to seek a stay on their disqualification and postponement of the trust vote that is scheduled to be held on October 14.

The independent MLAs have filed an interlocutory application before the registrar of the high court and it will be placed before the chief justice at 1.30 pm.

The independents MLAs have stated that it would be unfair to hold the trust vote on Thursday as the main petition filed by them challenging their disqualification is still pending before the court. The court will hear the plea by the disqualified MLAs on October 18. The HC has refused to order a stay on the disqualification.

October 13, 2010, 12:09:

The 5 independent MLAs, who were disqualified by the Karnataka assembly speaker, are trying to move the high court to seek the postponement of the second trust vote that is scheduled to be held on Thursday.

The high court had earlier deferred the hearing on the plea filed against their dismissal and refused to order a stay on it. The independent MLAs will seek a direction against the order of Governor H R Bharadwaj, who directed Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa to seek the vote of confidence again on October 14.

A A Ponnanna, counsel for the 11 disqualified BJP MLAs, told they had no plans of approaching the high court yet. The independent MLAs have claimed that it is unfair to hold a trust vote when the petition challenging their disqualification is still pending before the court which will take up the matter on October 18.

October 13, 2010, 3:11:

All the 105 BJP MLAs including Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa will head back to Bengaluru from New Delhi on Tuesday night. The MLAs have been put-on a chartered flight from Delhi.

The MLAs are expected to drive straight to the Golden Palms Resort and will stay put until Thursday morning when they will face another trust vote in the Legislative Assembly.

October 13, 2010, 3:08:

Joining the chorus against the Karnataka Governor, state congress chief R V Deshpande has said that he will request the Governor to change the date of the trust vote.

Deshpande said that the trust vote should be held after October 18th in view of the high court hearing a petition seeking reversal of the speaker’s order which had disqualified 16 MLAs.

He said that the high court should first decide the matter and only then should a trust vote be held.

No comments: