Thursday, September 16, 2010

K'taka: Top Congress leaders resign after party debackle

After losing both the seats in the by-polls to the Karnataka Legislative Assembly, Congress Working President, D K Shivakumar and Leader of the Opposition Siddaramiah resigned to their posts on Thursday

The two leaders following the defeat at the Kadur (BJP) and Gulbarga (JD(s)) on Thursday said that they were stepping down from their respective posts since they took moral responsibility for the defeat.

Meanwhile the elections to the post of office bearers in the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee is round the corner. R V Deshpande who is the currently the president will be replaced following a decision of the High Command. The Karnataka Congress had made it clear that Sonia Gandhi would decide on the office bearers instead of them holding elections to the posts in Karnataka.

No comments: