Tuesday, July 27, 2010

AP polls will fuel Telagana cause again

Twelve constituencies will go to polls in Andhra Pradesh on Tuesday in what is being termed as a pointed to the Telangana movement. The moment which had gone quiet after a major outburst is expected to gain momentum once the results of these by-elections to 12 seats are out.

The by-polls to the 12 seats are being held after 12 MLAs supporting the Telangana movement resigned to their seats in support of the movement. Out of the 12 seats, 10 were in possession of the TRS while BJP and TDP had the other two.

In the Karimnagar district there would be 5 seats, Nizamabad, 2, Adilabad, 3 and one each at Warrangal and Medak.

If one looks at the manner in which political parties have been campaigning, it shows a clear divide between the leaders in the Telangana region and the rest of Andhra Pradesh. Congress leader, D Srinivas’ statement is an indicator of the same. A couple of days back during the campaign he had announced in public that if the Congress were to win all 12 seats, then he would ensure that Telangana state is given in a golden plate. The Telegu Desam Party too subscribed to the same view and speaks about the development that has taken place during the regime of Chandrababu Naidu. The TRS has however stuck to its earlier stand and it is the only party which is united in what it has been saying.

Political observers say that the divide within the Congress and the TDP is clear. In the rest of Andhra Pradesh, both these parties have been resisting the formation of a separate Telangana.

Another interesting aspect is that not a single known face from either the Congress or TDP, including, Jagan Mohan Reddy, K Rosaiah or Chandrababu Naidu have campaigned for these by-polls. It is said that the leaders from these parties had specifically requested these leaders not to campaign for them in these by-polls since the tempers of the people were very high and it could prove disastrous to the party in the Telangana region.

No comments: